Our Leadership

We rely on our leadership to guide the way to a brighter future where we protect the hearts and minds of those that serve and protect our communities.

Serena Liebengood, MD, MHSA, Principal

Dr. Liebengood is the principal of The Howard C. Liebengood Foundation (HCLF) and is the widow of the late Howard “Howie” Liebengood. Dr. Liebengood completed her undergraduate studies in Psychology at Johns Hopkins University and graduate studies in Health Services Administration at the University of Michigan, School of Public Health.

See Full Bio

Kathleen Sutcliffe, PhD

Kathleen Sutcliffe is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of
Business and Medicine at Johns Hopkins University and is a management and organization theorist who is expert in the areas of organizing under uncertainty and ambiguity, sensemaking, and team dynamics.

See Full Bio

John Violanti, PhD

John M. Violanti, PhD is an internationally recognized expert on law enforcement mental and physical health. He is presently a full research professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health, School of Public Health and Health Professions, University at Buffalo, N.Y.

See Full Bio

Chief David Mitchell, JD

Chief David B. Mitchell is in his 52nd year in law enforcement. He began his career in 1971 with the Prince George’s County Police Department. He worked his through the ranks at PGPD until, in 1990, he was appointed Chief of Police. As Chief he instituted Community Policing and the Department became nationally accredited.

See Full Bio

James (Jim) Pasco, Jr

James O. Pasco, Jr. is the Executive Director of the National Fraternal Order of Police. He is responsible for all operations of the Washington, D.C. office, including a legislative program which addresses issues such as crime and criminal justice, collective bargaining rights, and officer safety.

See Full Bio

Commissioner Gil Kerlikowske

R. Gil Kerlikowske has a distinguished 40-year career as an urban law enforcement executive and leading the nation’s largest law enforcement organization. Appointed by President Obama, Gil has served as the only Senate-confirmed Commissioner of U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) 2014-2017.

See Full Bio